Baking Day with my Friend!

 

On baking day this week I did a very fun thing and spent the day with a great friend and we did the baking project together.  I have not had that much fun in a long time.  It was so nice to have another person’s hands and brain to help with making something new.  It was also great as this recipe had several breaks where things had to sit for an hour, so we were able to sit and have coffee, scones (homemade and lovely) and chat.  We also took some time to look at some great craft ideas online that I might have to showcase here in the near future.  I follow a blog called Simple Mom and she posted this link last week.  I love anything made with pumpkin so I knew I would have to make this recipe for Pull-Apart Cinnamon Sugar Pumpkin Bread with Buttered Rum Glaze!   I know, you are all excited because you just read rum in the title.  Unfortunately, we didn’t have any rum on hand (I know who doesn’t have rum on hand) so we used vanilla, but it was still amazing.  This is one of those recipes that you need to make sure you have plenty of time and it is a good idea to read through the entire recipe before you start. The toughest part of this recipe would be browning the butter.  Make sure to take it slow and watch/stir it constantly.  There is a fine line before it is browned and then there is an even finer line before it is burnt.  You don’t want that.  I’m glad I didn’t have to do this part of the process.  There are other great pointers within the recipe so look for them when you are making this lovely bread.  I have heard this is really good in the morning with a cup of coffee!

I have these really great pictures of the finished product thanks to my friends amazing talent with her camera.  She has started giving me pointers so maybe some day my pictures will be this beautiful.  Happy Baking!

One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. adailyportion
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 13:04:50

    This is the sweetest post Jill! Wednesday was great fun.

    (save your wine bottles– I’m going to buy some spray paint for the Halloween bottle ideas and I should have lots left after I do ours. :-)
    M

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

